Difference between DVB-T,DVB-S,DVB-C and DVB-H

This page on television basics tutorial covers difference between DVB-T,DVB-S,DVB-C and DVB-H systems. DVB stands for Digital Video Broadcasting. The system supports higher resolution and help increase the channel capacity.


•   It is the short form of Digital Video Broadcasting-terrestrial.
•   Transmission modulation scheme: Coded OFDM
•   Transmits compressed audio and video in MPEG format.
•   Data modulation schemes used: QPSK,16QAM,64QAM
•   Employs external encoder (RS encoder of (204,188) and internal encoder (convolutional coder).
•   Uses internal and external interleaver.
•   DVB-T uses VHF and UHF frequency channels mainly with bandwidth of 6MHz, 7MHz and 8MHz.


•   It is the short form of Digital Video Broadcasting-Satellite.
•   Uses MPEG-2 for digital compression and decompression.
•   Uses C band as well as Ku band frequencies.
•   Digital DBS receiver employs FEC techniques for error correction.
•   special satellites are launched for the purpose.
•   Uses both LHCP and RHCP polarization types for transmission.
•   DVB-S mostly requires smaller antenna in size.


•   It is the short form of Digital Video Broadcasting-Cable.
•   Uses MPEG-2 or MPEG-4 compression.
•   Data modulation: 16 QAM or 256QAM
•   Uses RS encoder as FEC.
•   Interleaving module is used in the chain.
•   Cable TV signal is carried using coaxial cable or fibre cable from cable service providers to the subscribers.
•   DVB-C uses frequencies from 55.25 to 403.25MHz.


•   It is the short form of Digital Video Broadcasting-Handheld.
•   DVB-H uses VHF, UHF and L band frequencies.
•   It can exist along with DVB-T system.
•  It is one of the mobile TV standard formats.


What is Difference between

RF and Wireless tutorials

RF and Wireless Terminologies