Femtocell types | class1, class2, class3

This page on Femtocell tutorial covers femtocell types. There are various types of femtocells based on different standard technologies such as wimax, 2G, 3G, 4G(or LTE) etc. The femtocells are classified into class1, class2 and class3 as follows.

Femtocell class1

The features of Femtocell class1 are as follows.
It works similar to WiFi access points(APs).
Transmit power(EIRP): 20 dBm or less
Application: enterprise or residential
Installation: It should be taken care by the end user.
Voice calls per channel: typically about 4 to 6
Data services: Supported

Femtocell class2

The features of Femtocell class2 are as follows.
Transmit power(EIRP): 24 dBm
Number of users: about 6 to 12
Installation: It is taken care by the femtocell service operator. End user can also install the same as per assistance.

Femtocell class3

The features of Femtocell class3 are as follows.
It has high transmit power to provide larger coverage range. It supports more users than class 1 and class 2 femtocell types. Installation is taken care by service operator to the authorized end users. This type of femtocell can be deployed both in the indoors and outdoors as per applications.

Femtocell tutorial related links

Femtocell Tutorial  Femtocell Architecture  Femtocell Testing  LTE Femtocell Manufacturers  Femtocell vs WiFi  Femtocell types  Femtocell interference  timing and synchronization  Handover 

RF Wireless Tutorials

Refer following RF and wireless tutorials in addition to femtocell tutorial described on this page.
GSM  TD-SCDMA  wimax  LTE  UMTS  GPRS  CDMA  SCADA  WLAN  802.11ac  802.11ad  GPS  Zigbee  z-wave  Bluetooth  UWB  IoT  T&M  satellite  Antenna  RADAR  RFID