Digital TV - DTV standards

This page on television basics tutorial covers Digital TV standards. FCC has defined total of about 14 different formats/standards for DTV(digital TV) . Most of the variations fall into basic standards mentioned in the table below. These DTV standards include 480p,480i/p,720p and 1080i.

DTV standard Aspect Ratio Pixels per Horizontal Line Vertical Pixels Scan Rate in Hz
480p 4:3 640 480 24,30,60
480i/p 4:3 OR 16:9 704 480 24,30,60
720p 16:9 1280 720 24,30,60
1080i 16:9 1920 1080 24 OR 30 Hz

p in 480i/p stands for "progressive" and i stands for "interlaced scanning".

ATSC 3.0 Latest Digital TV (DTV) Standard

ATSC 3.0 Protocol Stack

This ATSC 3.0 tutorial covers basics of ATSC 3.0 TV technology including features. It mentions ATSC 3.0 protocol stack, ATSC 3.0 Physical layer, ATSC 3.0 Frame structure and ATSC 3.0 advantages or benefits.
Follow ATSC 3.0 tutorial➤.


Television basics tutorial
TV channel Frequencies
Cable TV basics
Cable TV channel frequencies
Satellite TV basics
Digital TV basics
DTV standards
VSB modulation
Cable TV vs Satellite TV vs Digital TV
DVB-T vs DVB-S vs DVB-C vs DVB-H

RF and Wireless tutorials

WLAN  802.11ac  802.11ad  wimax  Zigbee  z-wave  GSM  LTE  UMTS  Bluetooth  UWB  IoT  satellite  Antenna  RADAR 

RF and Wireless Terminologies