Home of RF and Wireless Vendors and Resources

802.11 standards


This part of WLAN tutorial covers following:

What is wlan?
WLAN standards-11a,11b,11g,11n,11ac
11a WLAN Physical layer
11b WLAN Physical layer
11n WLAN Physical layer
WLAN 802.11-ac
WLAN 802.11-ad
WLAN MAC layer
Difference between 11a,11b,11g,11n
WLAN router providers
WLAN providers

This page covers 802.11 WLAN standards which include 802.11a,11b,11g,11n,802.11ac,11ad standards as per IEEE WLAN specifications.It covers both PHY and MAC layers.

This article describes about IEEE 802.11 standard history, description and various protocols. IEEE 802.11 is a family of WLAN standards which is used as wireless communication medium between computers. It operates at various RF frequency bands viz. 2.4, 3.6 and 5 GHz.

Description with history:

Protocols in 802.11 standards

IEEE 802.11-1997 standard- Describes PHY and MAC layers of WLAN standard.
IEEE 802.11a-1999 standard- Describes 11a PHY and MAC layers. Read WLAN 11a PHY layer. /Articles/Overview_of_11a_PHY_layer.html

IEEE 802.11b-1999 standard Describes 11b PHY and MAC layers. Read WLAN 11b PHY layer.
IEEE 802.11g-2003 standard Describes 11g PHY and MAC layers.
IEEE 802.11-2007 standard Describes 802.11 PHY and MAC layers.
IEEE 802.11n-2009 standard Describes WLAN 11n PHY and MAC layers.
IEEE 802.11ac standard Describes WLAN 11ac PHY and MAC layers.

RELATED LINKS for 802.11 standards


WLAN-802.11a PHY layer, READ MORE

WLAN-802.11b PHY layer, READ MORE

WLAN-802.11n PHY layer, READ MORE

WLAN_ac brief.

802.11ad basics

Difference between 802.11 family of standards viz. 11a,11b,11g and 11n, READ MORE